It’s a Monday…and I’m Reading!

#IMWAYR

Well it’s Monday and I’m supposed to tell you guys what I am reading. It took me a while to decide what to read next. I haven’t read many of the classics so I finally decided on The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar WildeSo far I have read 64 pages of it and I am excited to continue.

I have decided that I am a fan of Oscar Wilde’s style of writing. It’s flowery, but not so much that it’s annoying. The characters are rich and full of personality and life. Lord Henry, Basil Hallward, Dorian Gray, and Sibyl. My favorite character is Lord Henry because he is just so flamboyant with his beliefs. He seems to have a backward look at everything compared to the popular opinion.

 

“Never marry at all, Dorian. Men marry because they are tired; women, because they are curious: both are disappointed.” – Lord Henry

 

When he meets Dorian, who was already friends with Basil, he becomes weirdly interested in Dorian’s personality. The way he talks almost sounds like he could be a psychiatrist. Dorian is outstandingly handsome and is a muse for Basil who is an artist who painted a stunning portrait of Dorian. Lord Henry then tells Dorian the horrors of losing one’s youth and good looks and it shakes Dorian to his core and forever changes him as a person.

 

“We degenerate into hideous puppets, haunted by the memory of the passions of which we ere too much afraid, and the exquisite temptations that we had not the courage to yield to. Youth! Youth! There is absolutely nothing in the world but youth!” – Lord Henry

 

Okay so that’s all I got for this Monday! Now I’m just sitting back, watching the movie Paper Towns which is based on the book by John Green (one of my favorite authors). The book is DEFINITELY better but they do what they can.

 

 

If you are looking for a new author to try out, you should definitely try John Green. I have read all of his books minus one that he co-wrote with another author that I greatly dislike. His books are just wonderful, the way he writes sounds so poetic but it’s also an easy read. Here’s John Green’s website if you want to learn more, there’s a list of books on there as well as other cool info about him.

Till next time! Keep on reading!

 

332

 

10 thoughts on “It’s a Monday…and I’m Reading!

  1. You’ve piqued my interest in “The Picture of Dorian Grey” by Oscar Wilde, from a combination of these wonderful quotes and your delightful narrative voice in describing how much you’ve liked it so far (someone with a way with words like you have must have good taste in books). I didn’t read a lot of classics as a kid, with exception to Jane Eyre, so this is definitely going on my list so that I can catch up.
    I read Paper Towns, but I could only make it partway through the movie. I agree with you, the book is waaaay better but they did what they could with the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Picture of Dorian Gray was one of my favorite books that I read in high school. I definitely disagree with you on Lord Henry because I hated how he corrupted Dorian. Basil was my favorite character and he should have kept Dorian from meeting Lord Henry but we all make mistakes. If you want something funnier and a lot less dark and depressing, I loved The Importance of Being Ernest, also by Oscar Wilde.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes now that I have read farther into the book I agree with you that Lord Henry is really bad, I also learned that he is supposed to loosely represent Satan because of him tempting and corrupting Dorian which I thought was genius! I’ve read part of that play, I never finished it and I’m not sure why but it was hilarious! I’ll be sure to read it completely.

      Like

  3. This was an amazing blog post. I really enjoyed reading this, I ran out of books on the list that sounded interesting but this book sounds like I could potentially enjoy it. Thank for sharing I think I will look into reading this in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

