It’s Monday and I’m Reading About Writing!

stephen-king

I have been reading On Writing by Stephen King and I have read 140 pages so far. When I first started this book, I was concerned that it might be boring just because it’s a book about writing but I am pleasantly surprised to find that I was wrong. I haven’t read any of Stephen King’s books but I love the way he writes this one. It is very in-formal and I like that, it makes it a more interesting read. I also liked how he included a large portion of the book that told us more about his life. I had no idea he went through so much to get where he is. It gives beginning writers like me hope that I can get somewhere if I keep trying. I’ve just now gotten into the writing advice so you’ll have to wait till next week for the entire review!

“Someone out there is not accusing me of being tiresome and anal-retentive. I deny it. I believe the road to hell is paved with adverbs, and I will shout it from the rooftops.” -Stephen King

So one of my favorite movies is Troy. You know, the story of the fall of Troy and the mighty Achilles? I watched it again this weekend because it happened to be on TV and my Wi-Fi is down at home so I thought, why not? I have always loved the time of gladiators and Greek mythology so this movie is epic and if you haven’t seen it, you definitely should. there are so many amazing quotes from this movie here are a couple of my favorites:

“I’ll tell you a secret. Something they don’t teach you in your temple. The Gods envy us. They envy us because we’re mortal, because any moment might be our last. Everything is more beautiful because we’re doomed. You will never be lovelier than you are now. We will never be here again.” -Achilles

Gives me chills! Please go watch this movie!

“If they ever tell my story let them say that I walked with giants. Men rise and fall like the winter wheat, but these names will never die. Let them say I lived in the time of Hector, tamer of horses. Let them say I lived in the time of Achilles.” – Odysseus

Here’s the trailer if you’re interested (you should be).

 

 

There’s also a book called The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller that is a VERY good read. It’s actually a lot different from the movie Troy, but it was a refreshing new take on the story I always knew. If you enjoy warriors, Greek gods, and war, then you’ll love this book. Miller’s interpretation is very unique.

Until next time my friends!

317

Leave a Reply

